Support forums

Please check @brandnewbox_uk for support status updates.

Search     Advanced Search
Error during import, “invalid_selection”  
Posted: 02 March 2018 12:33 PM —  
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2018-03-02

Hi Andrew,
EE3.5.15 and Datagrab 3.0.0 gives me that error during import.

for example

Error in entry: Superchiaro Colla Spray

Error in entry: Superchiaro Colla Spray, field: author_id, message: invalid_selection

Error in entry: Superchiaro Colla Spray, field: structure__template_id, message: invalid_selection

Can you help me?
Thanks.

Diego Burgio

Profile
 
Posted: 06 March 2018 02:02 PM —   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1342
Joined  2006-04-12

Sorry for not replying sooner.

Are you trying to import into a Structure controlled channel?

Andrew

Profile
 
Posted: 07 March 2018 09:04 AM —   [ # 2 ]  
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2018-03-02
Andrew Weaver - 06 March 2018 02:02 PM

Sorry for not replying sooner.

Are you trying to import into a Structure controlled channel?

Andrew

Hi Andrew,
I receive that error on two different sites, one with Structure and one without.
Strange thing is that I do not receive that error for all entries.

Profile
 
Posted: 29 March 2018 02:05 PM —   [ # 3 ]  
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2018-03-02

Andrew, can you help me?
Thanks!

Profile
 
Posted: 29 March 2018 02:13 PM —   [ # 4 ]  
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1342
Joined  2006-04-12

Hi Diego,

Sorry for missing your previous reply.

EE3 and EE4 seem to be much more strict in validating some fields. The ‘invalid_selection’ error usually means that the data you are trying to import is not in the field’s accepted values - usually in pull down menus.

Could you email me details of how your channel is set-up (what custom fields are defined, if it is managed be Structure etc) and if possible a sample of the data you are importing? I’ll try running some tests.

Do you get this error with every entry you are trying to import, or just some?

Thanks,
Andrew

Profile
 
Posted: 05 April 2018 12:39 PM —   [ # 5 ]  
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2018-03-02
Andrew Weaver - 29 March 2018 02:13 PM

Hi Diego,

Sorry for missing your previous reply.

EE3 and EE4 seem to be much more strict in validating some fields. The ‘invalid_selection’ error usually means that the data you are trying to import is not in the field’s accepted values - usually in pull down menus.

Could you email me details of how your channel is set-up (what custom fields are defined, if it is managed be Structure etc) and if possible a sample of the data you are importing? I’ll try running some tests.

Do you get this error with every entry you are trying to import, or just some?

Thanks,
Andrew

Hi Andrew,
I emailed you (to support@brandnewbox.co.uk) details.
Thanks!

Diego Burgio

Profile
 
Posted: 18 April 2018 06:15 AM —   [ # 6 ]  
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2018-03-02

Up

Profile
 
Posted: 09 May 2018 06:37 PM —   [ # 7 ]  
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2018-05-09

I’m encountering a similar issue as well. Any fix?

Thanks!

Profile
 
Posted: 09 May 2018 06:46 PM —   [ # 8 ]  
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1342
Joined  2006-04-12

Hi,

Do you know what field is giving you the invalid_selection error?

Diego: Sorry! I’ve been having a nightmare with my email recently and missed your posts/emails. I’ll take a look asap if you still need me to.

Andrew

Profile
 
Posted: 09 May 2018 06:49 PM —   [ # 9 ]  
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2018-05-09

Hi Andrew,

Mine was related to Status—I imagine “Open” (in EE) and “Published” (in WP) might not be playing nicely so I just set the default status to Open.

The import completed successfully.

Thanks

TIm

Profile
 
Posted: 09 May 2018 06:52 PM —   [ # 10 ]  
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1342
Joined  2006-04-12

EE3 and EE4 are much more strict about the data it allows. I *think* by default EE allows open and closed (probably needs to be lowercase).

Let me know if you run into any more issues…

Andrew

Profile
 
Posted: 21 May 2018 07:54 AM —   [ # 11 ]  
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2018-03-02
Andrew Weaver - 09 May 2018 06:46 PM

Hi,

Do you know what field is giving you the invalid_selection error?

Diego: Sorry! I’ve been having a nightmare with my email recently and missed your posts/emails. I’ll take a look asap if you still need me to.

Andrew

Hey, yep I still need your help.
Thanks!

Diego

Profile
 

‹‹ Imported categories all have cat_order =1      Wordpress Datatype ››

Select A Theme