Support forums

Please check @brandnewbox_uk for support status updates.

Search     Advanced Search
Import file by url - Error: Cannot open file/url:   
Posted: 29 April 2012 02:20 PM —  
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2011-01-06

Using datagrab beta version 1.7.2 on EE version 2.4.0
  (have not tested with v1.7.1)

Defining the import as a url appears not to work.
  (Error: Cannot open file/url)

Defining the same source as file with server path does work.

Not a show stopper for me, but the entry form says:

Filename or URL
Can be a file on the local file system or from a website site url (http://...)
Profile
 
Posted: 30 April 2012 10:29 AM —   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1331
Joined  2006-04-12

This usually occurs when PHP is configured to not allow files to be read over http.

Andrew

Profile
 
Posted: 02 May 2012 06:46 AM —   [ # 2 ]  
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2011-01-06

Thanks for the quick response.

It’s good to understand why :) it is.

Profile
 
Posted: 07 June 2016 12:56 PM —   [ # 3 ]  
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  8
Joined  2010-12-20

We’re having the same issue here.

Error: Cannot open the file/url: http://www.edifgroup.com/imports/results_datase.csv.
If you are trying to access this file using http://, try accessing directly as a file.

There are 0 fields per entry.

php_value allow_url_fopen On - is set to on, both on the server and htaccess file.

Any thoughts?

What else can we do to de-bug this?

Profile
 
Posted: 07 June 2016 01:15 PM —   [ # 4 ]  
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  8
Joined  2010-12-20

I would mention, if I upload the CSV to another server it work fine. Data is imported as I would expect.

Profile
 
Posted: 08 June 2016 08:46 AM —   [ # 5 ]  
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  8
Joined  2010-12-20

Thanks for Andrew and the hosting company this issue is now fixed for us.

php_value allow_url_fopen was set to on.

The issue was that some servers prevent you accessing web pages from your own site, that is it was unable to talk to it’s own public address.

This was altered and all imports no work as expected :)

Profile
 
Posted: 01 August 2017 03:58 PM —   [ # 6 ]  
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2017-08-01
paulcripps - 08 June 2016 08:46 AM

Thanks for Andrew and the hosting company this issue is now fixed for us.

php_value allow_url_fopen was set to on.

The issue was that some servers prevent you accessing web pages from your own site, that is it was unable to talk to it’s own public address.

This was altered and all imports no work as expected :)


I know this is an old post, but wondering if you remember what you had to change on the server side to get things working. I’m having the same issue. Thanks!

Profile
 

‹‹ PHP Errors on excel datatype      First import its ok. Next runs fail (server error) ››

Select A Theme