Support forums

Please check @brandnewbox_uk for support status updates.

Search     Advanced Search
Import into Store 4 with EE4  
Posted: 11 May 2018 06:02 PM —  
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  18
Joined  2011-06-18

Hi Andrew

I’ve got a site built in EE4 using Expresso Store 4 and I need to import a long list of products. Does Datagrab work with Store 4 and if not what it would take to get it to work?

Many thanks!

David Hyland

Profile
 
Posted: 15 May 2018 03:45 PM —   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1357
Joined  2006-04-12

Hi David,

Sorry for not getting back sooner.

I had Store working with EE3 but I’m not sure whether it has changed much with version 4 for EE4.

I don’t have a version of Store 4 to test with at the moment - I will contact them and see if I can get hold of one. If I could use your version to test with in the meantime could you email me at support@brandnewbox.co.uk

Thanks,
Andrew

Profile
 
Posted: 15 May 2018 04:45 PM —   [ # 2 ]  
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  18
Joined  2011-06-18

Hi Andrew, at the moment I only have Store 4 working on my local machine but as soon as I can get a copy on a staging server I’ll let you know.

Thanks!

Profile
 
Posted: 15 May 2018 04:48 PM —   [ # 3 ]  
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1357
Joined  2006-04-12

I’ve just contacted devdemon and they’ve been kind enough to give me a version to test with.

I’ve only had time for a quick look but I think it works quite similarly to the EE2/3 versions, so I should be able to support it. If I remember correctly DataGrab could only import ‘simple’ products (ie, without price modifiers), but let me know if you need something more complex.

Andrew

Profile
 
Posted: 15 May 2018 04:55 PM —   [ # 4 ]  
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  18
Joined  2011-06-18

Yup that’s good of them!

There’s nothing out of the ordinary needed in my case, normal Product Details fields plus a handful of normal custom fields.

I can’t recall if DataGrab supports the import of images into a standard File field? If so, can images be imported via URL or do they have to be on the same server?

I look forward to hearing from you about EE4/Store4 support :)

David

Profile
 
Posted: 15 May 2018 05:10 PM —   [ # 5 ]  
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1357
Joined  2006-04-12

You should be able to import by URL into a normal File field. The only issue is that this takes longer and sometimes the import times-out.

I’ll test a bit more later and let you know.

Andrew

Profile
 
Posted: 17 May 2018 03:05 PM —   [ # 6 ]  
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  18
Joined  2011-06-18

Hello mate. Any news on importing into Store 4?

Profile
 
Posted: 18 May 2018 03:16 PM —   [ # 7 ]  
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1357
Joined  2006-04-12

Hi David,

Sorry for not getting back to you.

I’ve only tried some basic tests but I think EE4 should work with Store 4 without needing any updates.

Andrew

Profile
 
Posted: 22 May 2018 12:53 PM —   [ # 8 ]  
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  18
Joined  2011-06-18

Hey Andrew, DataGrab now purchased for EE4 (under account ngage) and all seems well. If I run into any problems I’ll holler.

Thanks again!

David

Profile
 
Posted: 21 January 2019 05:31 PM —   [ # 9 ]  
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  18
Joined  2011-06-18

Hi Andrew

I’m about to upgrade this site to EE5 and I’m working on the assumption that DataGrab will work with EE5 given that it’s practically identical to EE4 but please could you confirm this?

By the way, it all worked perfectly with Store 4, thank you!

David

Profile
 

‹‹ Cannot open file      Import into Fluid Fields ››

Select A Theme