Support forums

Please check @brandnewbox_uk for support status updates.

Search     Advanced Search
Import into Store 4 with EE4  
Posted: 11 May 2018 06:02 PM —  
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  16
Joined  2011-06-18

Hi Andrew

I’ve got a site built in EE4 using Expresso Store 4 and I need to import a long list of products. Does Datagrab work with Store 4 and if not what it would take to get it to work?

Many thanks!

David Hyland

Profile
 
Posted: 15 May 2018 03:45 PM —   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1353
Joined  2006-04-12

Hi David,

Sorry for not getting back sooner.

I had Store working with EE3 but I’m not sure whether it has changed much with version 4 for EE4.

I don’t have a version of Store 4 to test with at the moment - I will contact them and see if I can get hold of one. If I could use your version to test with in the meantime could you email me at support@brandnewbox.co.uk

Thanks,
Andrew

Profile
 
Posted: 15 May 2018 04:45 PM —   [ # 2 ]  
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  16
Joined  2011-06-18

Hi Andrew, at the moment I only have Store 4 working on my local machine but as soon as I can get a copy on a staging server I’ll let you know.

Thanks!

Profile
 
Posted: 15 May 2018 04:48 PM —   [ # 3 ]  
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1353
Joined  2006-04-12

I’ve just contacted devdemon and they’ve been kind enough to give me a version to test with.

I’ve only had time for a quick look but I think it works quite similarly to the EE2/3 versions, so I should be able to support it. If I remember correctly DataGrab could only import ‘simple’ products (ie, without price modifiers), but let me know if you need something more complex.

Andrew

Profile
 
Posted: 15 May 2018 04:55 PM —   [ # 4 ]  
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  16
Joined  2011-06-18

Yup that’s good of them!

There’s nothing out of the ordinary needed in my case, normal Product Details fields plus a handful of normal custom fields.

I can’t recall if DataGrab supports the import of images into a standard File field? If so, can images be imported via URL or do they have to be on the same server?

I look forward to hearing from you about EE4/Store4 support :)

David

Profile
 
Posted: 15 May 2018 05:10 PM —   [ # 5 ]  
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1353
Joined  2006-04-12

You should be able to import by URL into a normal File field. The only issue is that this takes longer and sometimes the import times-out.

I’ll test a bit more later and let you know.

Andrew

Profile
 
Posted: 17 May 2018 03:05 PM —   [ # 6 ]  
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  16
Joined  2011-06-18

Hello mate. Any news on importing into Store 4?

Profile
 
Posted: 18 May 2018 03:16 PM —   [ # 7 ]  
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1353
Joined  2006-04-12

Hi David,

Sorry for not getting back to you.

I’ve only tried some basic tests but I think EE4 should work with Store 4 without needing any updates.

Andrew

Profile
 
Posted: 22 May 2018 12:53 PM —   [ # 8 ]  
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  16
Joined  2011-06-18

Hey Andrew, DataGrab now purchased for EE4 (under account ngage) and all seems well. If I run into any problems I’ll holler.

Thanks again!

David

Profile
 

‹‹ Cannot open file      Import into Fluid Fields ››

Select A Theme